January 28, 2020 Special Meeting Minutes


January 28, 2020

The Ogden City Council met in Special Session on Tuesday, January 28th, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. in the City Hall Council Chambers. Mayor Denny Good presided. Members present were Councilman Jason Weber, Councilman Dave Ohlson, Councilman Brian Reimers (arrived at 7:10), Councilwoman Lori Anderson and Councilwoman Margaret Liston. City staff present were City Clerk Melanie Olesen, City Administrator Emily Clausen, Sewer Superintendent Chad Thede and City Attorney Lee Johnson. Additional attendees present were Steven Soupir from FOX Engineering and 6 guests.


No public comments. Sewer Superintendent Chad Thede updated council on the WWTP. Everything is up and working and the software and heating issues have been resolved. Training will be finished on Thursday.


Public Hearing. Mayor Good closed the regular meeting at 7:03 p.m. to open the public hearing to consider the sale of roadway SE 2nd Street in Nylander’s Addition to Ogden. No questions or comments.


Mayor Good closed the public hearing and entered back into regular session at 7:05 p.m.

Motion by Anderson, second by Liston to approve Resolution No. 202001-481 disposing of city property.

Ayes: All Present, Motion Carried.


Motion by Liston, second by Ohlson to approve and sign the final Casey’s Development Agreement.

Ayes: All Present, Motion Carried.


Councilman Brian Reimers arrived at the meeting.


Steven Soupir updated the council on conversations with the low bidder and makes the recommendation to award bid to JB Holland Construction Inc. Chad Thede also made the recommendation to move forward with the project.


Motion by Weber, second by Liston to approve Resolution No. 202001-475 accepting bid and authorizing the award of contract for the Beaver Creek Watershed Improvements Project in the City of Ogden, Iowa in the amount of $474,482.10.

Ayes: All Present. Motion Carried.


Motion by Liston, second by Anderson, to adjourn at 7:15 p.m.

Ayes: All Present, Motion Carried.



Denny Good, Mayor

Attest: Melanie Olesen, City Clerk